The Bored Girl's Kitchen











{April 5, 2012}   Boredom Soup: Take 1

Verdict: Well, my husband liked it.  I shouldn’t have added the Italian seasoning.  I don’t know why I did.  I don’t even like Italian seasoning.

So the other day I was bored and hungry, and decided to whip together a little soup dish.  Another endlessly customizable dish, there are things I would have liked to add to this one that I couldn’t, and things that I wouldn’t add if making it again. however it’s a decent basic soup type thing that can be relatively quickly enjoyed.

For my “recipe” you’ll need the following:

- small can of meat, or meat that you like and have cooked.  I used a can of chicken for this one.

- Bouillon cube of your choice, I used beef.

- Various vegetables.  I had potatoes and celery available.

- Various seasonings.  In this dish I used freeze dried onion (in lieu of real onions), garlic powder, steak seasoning, and Italian seasoning.

(Substitute one of those garlic powders for a jar of freeze dried onions, I don’t pay as close attention as I should sometimes)

Step 1: Chop up your potatoes and start them cooking.  While the potatoes are cooking, go ahead and prep any other veggies you want to put in there.  They don’t have to be chopped super fine, just small bite sized pieces will work.

Step 2:  Once the potatoes are done cooking, or if you have pre-prepared potatoes like I do above (thanks mom!), make sure there’s just enough water in there to cover the potatoes.  With that pint sized jar up there, I put the whole jar in and added another jar full of water.  Then add the bouillon cubes and the veggies.

Step 3: Once the bouillon is dissolved, go ahead and add the seasonings and stir it. After that, add the meat and 3/4 of the package of Ramen.

Step 4: After the Ramen has softened, serve! Garnish bowls with the other 1/4 package of Ramen, and enjoy!

I couldn’t even finish that bowl that you see there, but that was from the Italian seasoning.  I firmly believe that if I were to remake this without that, I’d eat the whole pot there. I’d also only use one bouillon cube instead of two because for just me it was a bit too salty.  However, my husband enjoyed the leftovers, and took them to work for lunch, so it wasn’t a total bust.

If you have any questions or comments you can either leave them below, or email me.  If you have a suggestion for a recipe or any other ideas, that email address is theboredgirlskitchen@gmail.com.

Happy cooking!

Got something to say?

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

